FREDERICTON (GNB) – Thirteen New Brunswick lawyers have been appointed Queen's counsel.

The latest recipients announced today by Lt.-Gov. Brenda Murphy are:

  • Ferne Ashford, Fredericton
  • David Bartlett, Saint Andrews
  • Nathan Gorham, Saint John
  • Matthew Hayes, Saint John
  • Lucie LaBoissonnière, Moncton
  • Joshua McElman, Saint John
  • Brenda McMullen Brown, Moncton
  • Joël Michaud, Fredericton
  • Carley Parish, Hampton
  • Justin Robichaud, Moncton
  • Carole Sirois-Paquette, Caraquet
  • Daniel Surette, Moncton
  • Corry Toole, Saint John

Queen's counsel is an honorary designation given to lawyers who have demonstrated outstanding practice, shown integrity and leadership, and made contributions to excellence in the profession. They also must be members of the Law Society of New Brunswick and have at least 15 years' experience in the practice of law.

J.C. Marc Richard, chief justice of New Brunswick, chairs the committee that makes recommendations to the lieutenant-governor.

To comply with safety restrictions because of the COVID-19 pandemic, a swearing-in ceremony took place online Monday with new members participating from their homes or offices. The event was hosted by the Law Society of New Brunswick.