FREDERICTON (GNB) – Public consultation sessions on the future of health care in the province are planned in several communities across New Brunswick.

Health Minister Dorothy Shephard will conduct a virtual provincial tour to talk about the challenges facing the health-care system and receive input from medical professionals, community leaders and the public on Striving for Dependable Public Health Care: A discussion paper on the future of health care in New Brunswick.

Members of the public are encouraged to submit feedback by emailing healthplansante@gnb.ca.

“I look forward to beginning our provincial tour and hearing from New Brunswickers,” said Shephard. “I am committed to creating a better health-care system and I am open to listening to any and all ideas about how that can be accomplished.”

In order to respect the current COVID-19 safety requirements, all sessions will be held online using Zoom and can be attended virtually via smartphone, tablet or computer. Simultaneous interpretation will be available.

The public engagement schedule is as follows:

  • Thursday, March 4, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Sackville;
  • Tuesday, March 9, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Sainte-Anne-de-Kent;
  • Thursday, March 11, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Caraquet;
  • Tuesday, March 16, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., Perth-Andover;
  • Thursday, March 18, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Sussex;
  • Tuesday, March 23, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Grand Falls;
  • Thursday, March 25, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Campbellton;
  • Tuesday, March 30, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Moncton;
  • Tuesday, April 6, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Upper River Valley;
  • Thursday, April 8, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Saint John;
  • Tuesday, April 13, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.; Charlotte County;
  • Thursday, April 15, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Bathurst;
  • Tuesday, April 20, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Fredericton;
  • Thursday, April 22, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.; Miramichi; and
  • Tuesday, April 27, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Edmundston.

Anyone interested in attending a session, may register online.