FREDERICTON (GNB) – Andrew Daley of Green Mountain has been appointed the new chair of the Premier’s Council on Disabilities.

“The council makes an important contribution to improving the lives of persons with a disability and I am honoured to be appointed chair of the Premier’s Council on Disabilities,” said Daley. “The next three years will be a busy time for the council and I am happy to be given this opportunity.”

The new members are:

  • Andrew Daley, Green Mountain (Local Service District of North Lake), chair
  • Annie Chiasson Doiron, Tracadie

They join current council members:

  • Linda Ferrier, Fredericton, treasurer
  • Noëlla Hébert, Saint-Louis de Kent, secretary
  • Sheila Rogers, Bathurst
  • Christine Evans, Saint John
  • Michael George, Saint John
  • Cheryl LeBlanc, Shediac
  • Dawn Stevens, Fredericton
  • Marc LeBlanc, Beresford
  • Brent MacPherson, Fredericton
  • Michèle Ouellette, Edmundston

“Annie will bring an important perspective to the council,” said Daley. “She is a strong advocate for those in the northeast of the province. The council is fortunate that she has agreed to become a member and to contribute in this way.”

The council meets four times a year in addition to other public meetings. It advises on matters relating to the status of persons with a disability; brings before the provincial government and the public matters of interest and concern to persons with a disability; promotes employment opportunities of persons with a disability; and supports access by persons with a disability to all services offered to New Brunswickers.

Other areas of focus for the council include employment, transportation, education, barrier-free design and home care, among many others.

More information about the council is available online.