FREDERICTON (GNB) – Ten accomplished New Brunswickers were invested into the Order of New Brunswick today. The new members were inducted into the province's highest honour by the chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Jocelyne Roy-Vienneau, at a ceremony at Government House in Fredericton.

“Today we celebrate 10 remarkable individuals and their extraordinary contribution to the social, cultural and economic well-being of New Brunswick,” said Premier Brian Gallant. “These men and women are diverse in their professions, regions and cultures but they share the common vision of making our province a better place to work, grow and prosper.”

The new members of the Order of New Brunswick are:

  • Roger Augustine, from the Eel Ground First Nation, for his efforts in improving the well-being of First Nations communities in the province as well as for strengthening the relationships between aboriginal and non-aboriginal communities.
  • Wayne Curtis, from Fredericton, for his numerous literary contributions and his commitment and dedication to Atlantic salmon conservation.
  • Lorraine Diotte, from Dalhousie, for her 50-plus years as a teacher dedicated to educating New Brunswick students, for her volunteering and involvement in various humanitarian and Acadian causes, and for her many artistic contributions.
  • Roxanne Fairweather, from Saint John, for her strong contribution to the business landscape in New Brunswick, for her work to advance research and innovation in the province, and for her efforts in forging partnerships in the community to offer programs to increase literacy.
  • Ivan Hicks, from Moncton, for his contribution and work toward preserving and promoting the province’s musical culture both within New Brunswick and across Canada, for his community volunteer efforts, and for his contributions to the New Brunswick education system.
  • Himanshu Kumar Mukherjee, from Fredericton, for his outstanding advances in health care and nursing home services in New Brunswick, his community volunteer efforts, and his commitment to welcoming newcomers to New Brunswick.
  • Guy A. Richard, from Bouctouche, for his exceptional record as a judge and for his contributions and advances to the development of research at the Université de Moncton.
  • Cheryl Robertson, from Saint John, for her remarkable contributions to both the advancement of the education system in the province, and her decades of volunteer and charitable work within the community.
  • Claude Snow, from Caraquet, for his work in advancing social justice causes, including his efforts in defending and raising awareness for society’s most vulnerable and disadvantaged people.
  • Roch Voisine, OC, from Saint-Basile, for his contributions to the music industry that represent New Brunswick on a provincial, national and international level.

The Order of New Brunswick was first awarded in 2002 to recognize individual New Brunswickers who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their lives, volunteer work and careers and who have made outstanding contributions to the social, cultural or economic development and well-being of the province, its communities and its residents.

“Each of these recipients represents excellence and embodies the true spirit of our province,” said Gallant. “We are fortunate and proud that these exceptional individuals have chosen to share their time, dedication and special qualities with all New Brunswickers.”

The 2014 inductees were presented with a medal representing the provincial flower and the shield of arms as well as a special ribbon in the same colours as the shield. Members of the order are entitled to use the initials ONB after their names.