FREDERICTON (GNB) – Six New Brunswickers have been named to the province's Electoral Boundaries and Representation Commission, Premier David Alward announced today.

Co-chairs Annise Hollies and Allan Maher will be joined by commissioners Conde Grondin, Susan Murray, Jean-Guy Rioux and James Stanley. The appointments are effective as of Aug. 28.

The commission will be tasked with redrawing the boundaries of New Brunswick's electoral ridings, replacing the current 55 ridings with 49 ridings to be used in the next general provincial election. The commission will report its findings to the legislative assembly.

“I am proud to name this panel of New Brunswickers to serve as our new electoral commission,” Alward said. “These six individuals reflect the skill and diversity of our province. I am confident they will propose electoral districts that will reflect our changing province and our shared commitment to equal and effective representation. I encourage New Brunswickers to assist the commission in its work by making representations and providing input.”

The province's all-party legislative administration committee met earlier this month and unanimously recommended the six individuals to serve on the commission. The commission operates under the terms of New Brunswick's Electoral Boundaries and Representation Act.

Biographical information on the six individuals:

Annise Hebert Hollies (Co-chair): Having served as Chief Electoral Officer and Municipal Electoral Officer until her retirement in 2007, Hollies brings more than 30 years of electoral experience to the commission as co-chair.

Born in Bouctouche, she graduated from the New Brunswick Community College before attending Oulton Business College in Moncton. Her extensive experience in elections includes the introduction of electronic vote tabulation technology as a pilot project for a byelection in the City of Saint John. Hollies also lent her skills to Elections Ontario during preparations for a provincial general election.

Allan E. Maher (Co-chair): First elected to the New Brunswick legislature in 1978 as the member for Dalhousie, Maher served eight years as New Brunswick's finance minister from 1987 to 1995 before retiring from politics.

Born in Newcastle and educated in Campbellton, he attended the New England Institute of Anatomy, Sanitary Science and Embalming. The former mayor of Dalhousie started in the family business and was director and secretary-treasurer of Maher's Funeral Homes Ltd. Maher is active in the community, having served as a member of the board of the Muriel McQueen Ferguson Foundation and the Fredericton Golf Club Inc.

Conde R. Grondin: A retired professor from the Department of Political Science at the University of New Brunswick, Conde Grondin has more than 29 years of academic experience at the university level.

Born in Saint-Jacques, Grondin received his bachelor of education, masters of education and doctor of philosophy in political science from the University of Alberta. With a teaching concentration in the fields of Canadian government and politics, development of political attitudes and provincial politics, he is often sought out for his opinion on the political landscape of New Brunswick.

Margaret Susan (Sue) Murray: Since 1996, Murray has worked with the Atlantic Provinces Medical Peer Review, a program which contributes to excellence in medical care through the assessment and education of physicians. She has served as executive director since 2000.

Murray is a long-time community volunteer who has served as president of Moncton Head Start and of the New Brunswick School Trustees Association. She is a former member of the Southeast Regional Health Authority and YMCA boards, and is currently a member of the board of the Riverview Boys and Girls Club, and the Moncton West and Riverview Rotary Club.
Jean-Guy Rioux: Currently living in Pointe-Brûlée, Rioux brings a diverse background to the commission as an educator, administrator and consultant.

Possessing both a bachelor and masters of education, he has held a variety of teaching positions at schools in New Brunswick, as well as teaching in Senegal and Chad as part of the Canadian International Development Agency. He has served as both president and vice-president of La Federation des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada, and president of the Congrès mondial acadien in 2009.

James E.A Stanley: A member of the New Brunswick Bar, currently on sabbatical, Stanley brings nearly 20 years of legal expertise to the commission.

Specializing in labour law, he worked from 2002 to 2011 as solicitor/researcher and national representative for the Canadian Union of Public Employees in the Atlantic Provinces and British Columbia. After graduating from Campbellton Regional High School in 1969, Stanley obtained Bachelor of Arts and law degrees from the University of New Brunswick.