Local Governance Reform

Working together for vibrant and sustainable communities



The maps and entities the outline New Brunswick's local goverance boundaries

Local governance structure in New Brunswick

The new structure has 77 local governments, 12 rural districts and an expanded mandate for regional service commissions.

Local Governance Commission Act

The legislation creates an independent body that will review, assess, rule, and make recommendations on administration and governance of local/regional entities.

Information and resources

Community planning, land use and development

Working together for vibrant and sustainable communities

The white paper (PDF)

In November 2021, the government of New Brunswick published their plan for local governance reform in a white paper entitled "Working together for vibrant and sustainable communities".

The four pillars of local governance reform

The guiding principles helping us modernize the provinces local governance structure.

Local Governance Orientation

January – February 2023

News and multimedia

Contact us

[email protected]

Mail to:
Department of Environment and Local Government, P.O. Box 6000, Fredericton, New Brunswick, E3B 5H1, attention Local Governance Reform Team