Government of New Brunswick
  • Description
  • Contacts
  • Overview

    Foster families are volunteers who are trained to provide a family home environment for children in the care of the Minister of Social Development when they are unable to remain with their natural families.

    Eligibility

    Basic eligibility criteria includes: at least 19 years of age, in good physical/mental health, pass a criminal record check, no prior involvement as a protection client with the department, financially self-reliant, if a couple, must have cohabited for more than one year prior to applying, must have the space in your home to accommodate additional children. Further assessment is done on your parenting skills, interpersonal skills and family dynamics.

    Description

    Foster families are volunteers who are approved by the Minister of Social Development after completing a 27 hour pre-service training and family assessment.

    The foster family works with the Children's Residential Services social worker assigned to them to plan further training or development needs through a Family Development Plan. They also work with the child's social worker from the Child in Care or Child Protection or Community-Based Services for Children with Special Needs programs as well as the biological parents.

    Foster families are monitored to ensure that they meet the requirements of the Family Services Act and the Family Foster Care Standards.

    Due to the needs of children coming into care of the minister, some families are designated as therapeutic homes, special needs homes or homes for youth who are open custody in the justice system. These families will require specialized training to serve the children in their care.

    For more information on becoming a foster family, contact your local office of Social Development.

    Contact Email Location
    Social Development Regional Offices
    Tracadie-Sheila
    Bathurst
    Edmundston
    Fredericton
    Miramichi
    Moncton
    Campbellton
    Saint John

Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Description
  • Contacts
  • Aperçu

    Les familles d’accueil sont des bénévoles qui sont formés pour fournir un environnement familial aux enfants pris en charge par le ministre du Développement social lorsqu’ils ne peuvent pas rester avec leur famille naturelle.

    Admissibilité

    Critères d'admissibilité de base : avoir au moins 19 ans, être en bonne santé physique et mentale, avoir un casier judiciaire vierge, ne jamais avoir été client des services de protection du Ministère, être autosuffisant financièrement, s'il s'agit d'un couple, avoir cohabité pendant plus d'un an avant de faire une demande, avoir l'espace nécessaire dans la maison pour accueillir d'autres enfants. En outre, les compétences parentales, les aptitudes aux relations interpersonnelles et la dynamique familiale sont évaluées.

    Description

    Les familles d'accueil sont des bénévoles qui sont approuvés par le ministre du Développement social après avoir terminé une formation préalable de 27 heures et une évaluation familiale.

    Les familles d'accueil travaillent avec un travailleur social des Services résidentiels pour enfants, qui leur est affecté pour planifier une formation complémentaire ou répondre aux besoins en perfectionnement à l'aide d'un plan de perfectionnement de la famille. Elles travaillent aussi avec le travailleur social de l'enfant, qui est rattaché aux Services aux enfants pris en charge, aux Services de protection de l'enfance ou aux Services communautaires pour les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux, et avec les parents biologiques.

    Les familles d'accueil sont surveillées afin qu'elles répondent aux exigences de la Loi sur les services à la famille et aux normes régissant le placement en famille d'accueil.

    En raison des besoins des enfants pris en charge par le ministre, certaines familles sont désignées comme foyers thérapeutiques, foyers pour enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux ou foyers pour jeunes délinquants soumis à une garde en milieu ouvert. Ces familles doivent suivre une formation spécialisée.

    Pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon de devenir famille d'accueil, il suffit de s'adresser au bureau régional du Développement social.

    Coordonnées Email Adresse
    Bureaux régionaux de Développement social
    Bathurst
    Edmundston
    Fredericton
    Miramichi
    Moncton
    Tracadie-Sheila
    Campbellton
    Saint John