FREDERICTON (GNB) – Government House Leader Rick Doucet today announced the changes among the members of the government caucus who occupy legislative roles.

“Our government is blessed with a strong team,” said Doucet. “I thank these members for agreeing to take on these important roles.”

Restigouche-Chaleur MLA Daniel Guitard, formerly deputy government whip, has been elected chair of the government caucus. Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou MLA Wilfred Roussel has been elected vice-chair of the government caucus.

Memramcook-Tantramar MLA Bernard LeBlanc, formerly deputy speaker, has been appointed chief government whip. Victoria-La Vallée MLA Chuck Chiasson has been appointed deputy government whip.

Moncton East Monique LeBlanc, who was the former chair of the government caucus, and Caraquet MLA Hédard Albert, who was the former chief government whip, will be appointed deputy Speakers.