FREDERICTON (GNB) – Nine teachers in the anglophone sector were presented with Teaching Excellence Awards in recognition of their exceptional work during the 2011-12 school year. The ceremony was held in Fredericton on Nov. 24.

"These awards recognize and honour dynamic educators who have displayed outstanding skills in supporting the needs of diverse learners at the school, district and / or provincial level," said Education and Early Childhood Development Minister Jody Carr. "It is a small way that we can thank our educators for their exceptional commitment and dedication to our children's learning."

Carr presented awards to the following individuals (the names of the former school districts are used):

●    Timothy Beatty (Riverview High School, Riverview – District 2);
●    Nora Elliot (Lakefield Elementary School, Quispamsis – District 6);
●    Robert (Bob) Johnson (district office, Saint John – District 8);
●    Jane Conley (Deer Island Community School, Lords Cove – District 10);
●    Sylvie Poirier (Florenceville Elementary School, Florenceville-Bristol – District 14);
●    Lisa Anderson (Dalhousie Regional High School, Dalhousie – District 15);
●    Carolyn Simmons (Gretna Green Elementary School, Miramichi – District 16);
●    Jeannette Collette (Oromocto High School, Oromocto – District 17); and
●    Jared Mallard (Bliss Carmen Middle School, Fredericton – District 18).

"This year's award recipients have earned the recognition and admiration of their peers, students and parents for their leadership and their passion for promoting learning," said Carr. "While all nominees for this award have made remarkable contributions to their school and community, these individuals have risen to the top, and I applaud them for the example they continue to set for their students and peers."

Carr said he was proud of the dedication shown by all teachers in New Brunswick.

"Every day, our teachers make a difference in the lives of students, instilling in them a love of learning that will last a lifetime," he said. "We will continue to collaborate with our teachers and school staff to provide positive, inclusive learning environments as we work to contribute to the future prosperity of our province.”