FREDERICTON (GNB) – Four new members were sworn into the Executive Council, other members assumed their new roles, and a restructuring of government departments came into effect today as part of the provincial government’s next phase of rebuilding the economy and growing healthier communities.

In a ceremony at the legislative assembly chamber, Lt.-Gov. Graydon Nicolas swore in Hugh J. Flemming as minister of Health; Troy Lifford as minister of Human Resources; Danny Soucy as minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour; and Dorothy Shephard as minister of Healthy and Inclusive Communities.

Changes to executive council, often referred to as the cabinet, and recent changes made to the senior levels of government are intended to strengthen the government's focus on rebuilding the economy and creating healthier, more inclusive communities.

“These changes will help our government build on the strong partnership we have forged with New Brunswickers over the past two years,” said Premier David Alward. “Our cabinet and our caucus are focussed on rebuilding our economy in each region of our province and on fostering safer, healthier and more vibrant communities throughout New Brunswick.”

Changes to departmental structures also become effective today. The Department of Healthy and Inclusive Communities has been established to promote healthy living and to integrate a number of socially-oriented policies, programs and services focused on youth, seniors, and individuals living with disabilities or in poverty.

As well, the Department of Energy and Mines was formed to combine these economic sectors under one roof. Forestry and Crown lands remain the responsibility of the Department of Natural Resources.

“New Brunswickers want safe and healthy communities, and we want jobs to ensure our families can continue to grow here at home,” said Alward. “Together, we can decide how to rebuild our province through change. These new departments are part of our ongoing work to restructure and streamline government operations to ensure we are delivering the right services at the best cost for taxpayers.”

Alward said that the new members of the executive council, and their colleagues, will be busy preparing for the coming fall legislative session and working with their departments to continue with restructuring efforts and identifying budget priorities for the coming year.

The Executive Council members are:

David Alward
Premier, President of the Executive Council, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister responsible for the Premier's Council on the Status of Disabled Persons, Minister responsible for Citizens' Engagement, Minister responsible for the Office of Government Review, Chair of the Policy and Priorities Committee of Cabinet

Paul Robichaud
Deputy Premier, Government House Leader, Minister of Economic Development (responsible for the Regional Development Corporation, Invest NB, Northern New Brunswick Initiative, and Rural Affairs), Minister responsible for La Francophonie

Marie-Claude Blais
Attorney General, Minister of Justice, Minister responsible for Women's Issues

Mike Olscamp
Minister of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries

Jody Carr
Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development

Craig Leonard
Minister of Energy and Mines

Bruce Fitch
Minister of Environment and Local Government, Minister responsible for Efficiency New Brunswick

Blaine Higgs
Minister of Finance, Minister responsible for the New Brunswick Liquor Corporation, Minister responsible for the New Brunswick Investment Management Corporation, Minister responsible for the New Brunswick Lotteries and Gaming Corporation, Chair of the Board of Management

Susan (Sue) Stultz
Minister of Government Services (responsible for Service New Brunswick and the New Brunswick Internal Services Agency)

Hugh J. Flemming
Minister of Health

Dorothy Shephard
Minister of Healthy and Inclusive Communities

Troy Lifford
Minister of Human Resources

Bruce Northrup
Minister of Natural Resources

Danny Soucy
Minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Robert Trevors
Minister of Public Safety

Madeleine Dubé
Minister of Social Development

Trevor Holder
Minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture

Claude Williams
Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure