FREDERICTON (GNB) – The winners of the 2018 Disability Awareness Week Awards were honoured at the annual Disability Awareness Week legislative breakfast this morning in Fredericton.

Established in 1988, the awards honour those who have made significant efforts to improve opportunities for people with a disability so they can participate fully in their communities and lead more independent lives.

This year’s winners are:

  • Le groupe de support émotionnel - Eugène LeBlanc, Moncton (Honourable Andy Scott Award)
  • Chrissy Montgomery, Fredericton (Disability Awareness Week Provincial Award)

In addition, Alana Gullison was named the first recipient of the Randy Dickinson Scholarship.

Dickinson is the founding executive director of the Premier’s Council on Disabilities. The scholarship was established in recognition of his nearly four decades of work on disability issues. The $2,000 scholarship will be awarded annually to a New Brunswick student with a disability studying in a recognized program at a New Brunswick post-secondary education institution.

The council also presented a final status update on its employment action plan and introduced its more user-friendly website, where more information about the award recipients may be found.

This year marks the 31st anniversary of Disability Awareness Week. The theme for 2018, Equal Opportunity for All!, reflects the need for society to include people with disabilities.