FREDERICTON (GNB) – Eleven New Brunswick lawyers have been appointed Queen's counsel. Lt.-Gov. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau made the announcement today.

The recipients are:

  • Lee C. Bell-Smith, Saint John;
  • Nathalie Chiasson, Shippagan;
  • Michael Comeau, Fredericton;
  • George L. Cooper, Moncton;
  • Chantal N. Daigle, Quispamsis;
  • Annie Daneault, Grand Falls;
  • Amanda Evans, Carters Point;
  • Kathryn Gregory, Fredericton;
  • David L.E. Peterson, Fredericton;
  • William G. Stephenson, Fredericton; and
  • Chantal Thibodeau, Dieppe.

J. Ernest Drapeau, chief justice of New Brunswick, chairs the committee that makes recommendations to the lieutenant-governor.

The designation of Queen’s counsel recognizes the accomplishments and contributions made by these individuals to their profession and community.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place on Monday, Oct. 30, at the legislative assembly in Fredericton.