FREDERICTON (GNB) - Premier Brian Gallant today announced the names of members of the government caucus who will occupy legislative roles.

"Our government is blessed with a very strong team," said Gallant. "I thank these members for agreeing to take on these important roles."

Earlier today, Gallant named the smallest cabinet in nearly 50 years. The following MLAs will supplement the governing team in critical, non-cabinet roles in the legislative assembly.

Hédard Albert, MLA-elect for Caraquet, will be government house leader and chief government whip. Albert will not be a member of the executive council, but will be invited to attend cabinet meetings and committees when the government's legislative agenda is discussed.

Bill Fraser, minister of tourism, heritage and culture, and MLA-elect for Miramichi will be deputy government house leader.

Daniel Guitard, MLA-elect for Restigouche-Chaleur, will be deputy government whip.

Monique LeBlanc, MLA-elect for Moncton East, has been elected chair of the government caucus.

Lisa Harris, MLA-elect for Miramichi Bay-Neguac, and Bernard LeBlanc, MLA-elect for Memramcook-Tantramar, will be appointed deputy Speakers.

Gallant also said that he and the government caucus will support Moncton Centre MLA-elect Chris Collins’ candidacy for Speaker of the legislative assembly. 

Members of legislative assembly will be sworn into office and a ballot for Speaker will be taken on Friday, Oct. 24.