FREDERICTON (GNB) – Eleven New Brunswick lawyers have been appointed Queen’s counsel. Lt.-Gov. Graydon Nicholas made the announcement today.

The recipients are:

●    René J. Basque, Moncton;
●    Michel Bastarache, Moncton;
●    Michael E. Bowlin, Fredericton;
●    Nancy E. Forbes, Fredericton;
●    James E. Fowler, Moncton;
●    Margaret Gallagher, Saint John;
●    Cameron H. Gunn, Fredericton;
●    Catherine Lahey, Saint John;
●    John B. Malone, Sussex;
●    Shirley C. MacLean, Fredericton; and
●    Nicole Poirier, Moncton.

J. Ernest Drapeau, chief justice of New Brunswick, chairs the committee that makes recommendations to the lieutenant-governor.

The designation of Queen’s counsel recognizes the accomplishments and contributions made by these individuals to their profession and community.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place on Oct. 28 at the legislative assembly in Fredericton.