BLACKVILLE (GNB) – As part of New Brunswick Day celebrations, Premier David Alward announced the names of the 2013 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick today, in Blackville.

“These individuals are being recognized for having made outstanding contributions to the social, cultural or economic well-being of our province,” said Alward. “Our province is proud to honour them, because through their work, creativity, and talent, they have helped create a strong, culturally rich and prosperous New Brunswick.”

The recipients are:

●    Joanna Bernard, of Madawaska Maliseet First Nation, for her tireless efforts to ensure the well-being and economic prosperity of her community as well as of all First Nations communities in the province;
●    Édith Butler, from Paquetville, for her remarkable contributions to the advancement of Acadian culture and heritage;
●    Alida Clément, from Dieppe, for her dedication and volunteer efforts to ensure the well-being and quality of life of disabled persons, seniors, and her community at large;
●    Eugène Durette, from Edmundston, for the impact he has had in advancing business in Edmundston and throughout the province, as well as the many ways in which he has given back to his community;
●    Dr. Dana Hanson, from Fredericton, for his outstanding leadership in the medical profession in New Brunswick and around the world;
●    Jean E. Irving, from Rothesay, for her passion and commitment to bettering the quality of life of communities throughout the province;
●    Freeman Patterson, from Kingston, for his exceptional talents as a photographer and his passion for sharing his skills and knowledge the world over;
●    Gerry Pond, from Saint John, for his innovative spirit and for being the driving force behind so many of New Brunswick's information technology and telecommunications success stories;
●    Gordon Porter, from Woodstock, for his efforts in advancing inclusive education and the rights of persons with disabilities in New Brunswick and throughout the world; and
●    Lionel Poitras, from Saint-André, for his contributions to ensuring the sustainability of the potato farming industry in our province.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field and who have made outstanding contributions to the social, cultural or economic well-being of New Brunswick and its residents.

“This year's recipients represent our province at its very best,” said Alward. “On behalf of all New Brunswickers, I congratulate them and thank them for their energy, their commitment and their service to their communities and our province.”

A ceremony to present this year's recipients with their awards will be held later in the fall.


●    Order of New Brunswick