Government of New Brunswick

Investments in early childhood, education and training are not only good for the economy, they ensure a strong quality of life. That is why early childhood and education is one of government’s top priorities. In fact, your government has invested more in early childhood an education than ever before.

The New Brunswick government’s 10-year education plans will improve educational outcomes and better prepare young people for the future. They set objectives in key priority areas to create lifelong learners, support educational leaders and bring stability to the education system. Having the proper infrastructure in place is important as government works with its partners to implement its 10-year education plans. Strengthening education and early childhood learning is a pivotal component of your government’s multi-year economic growth plan.

Since 2015-2016, the New Brunswick government has invested $398 million to upgrade current schools and build new ones.

New schools:

  • Max Aitken Academy (Miramichi)
  • King Street Elementary School (Miramichi)
  • New Campbellton K-8
  • Chris Saunders Memorial Elementary School (Quispamsis)
  • Seaside Park Elementary School (Saint John)
  • Moncton North Middle School
  • École Les Éclaireurs (Fredericton)
  • École Champlain (Moncton)
  • École le Marais et École Antonine-Maillet (Dieppe)
  • École Arc-en-Ciel (Oromocto)
  • Galion des Applaches (Campbellton)
  • Bessborough / Hillcrest Replacement (Moncton)
  • Nouvelle école M-8 de Moncton


  • Riverview High School
  • Harrison Trimble High School (Moncton)
  • Gretna Green School (Miramichi)
  • Bath Community School
  • Woodstock High School
  • Fredericton High School
  • Connaught Street School (Fredericton)
  • École L’Énvolée (Shippagan)
  • Polyvalente W.- Arthur-Losier (Tracadie-Shelia)
  • Centre scolaire communautaire La fontaine (Neguac)
  • Polyvalente Thomas-Albert (Grand Falls)
  • École Marie-Gaétane (Kedgwick)
  •  Étoile de l’Acadie  (Rogersville)
  • Centre scolaire Samuel-de-Champlain (Saint John) Polyvalente Louis J. Robichaud (Shediac)
  • Petitcodiac Regional School 
  • Oromocto High School
  • Saint John High School
  • Cité des Jeunes A.-M.-Sormany (Edmundston)

 The 2018-19 capital budget includes investments of $105.8 million in public schools. 


Updated: August 2018

MEDIA CONTACT(S): Nancy Champion, communications, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, (506) 444-2179,