FREDERICTON (GNB) – Fifteen new members were invested into the Order of New Brunswick recently by the chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Brenda Murphy.

“All recipients of the Order of New Brunswick exemplify the best qualities of our province,” said Premier Blaine Higgs. “They are thoughtful, committed and passionate individuals who believe they can make a difference, not only to their families, friends and communities, but also to their province. It is because of these outstanding individuals, and others like them, that I continue to be optimistic about the future of New Brunswick.”

The new members of the order for 2020 and 2021 receiving their insignia are:

  • Wesley Armour, from Moncton, for his substantial role in the province’s economic development, for his fierce loyalty and generosity toward his employees, and for his role as an informal ambassador for New Brunswick.
  • Edward Barrett, from Woodstock, for his tremendous leadership, engagement and significant contribution to economic development in New Brunswick and within his community.
  • Armand Caron, from Shippagan, for his exceptional contribution in the field of education, to his community, to the local Francophonie, and for his remarkable qualities as a leader and unifier who has greatly contributed to the advancement of New Brunswick.
  • Maj. Deborah Craig, from Moncton, for her monumental impact upon the military community in New Brunswick and beyond, as a trailblazer for women in the Canadian Armed Forces.
  • Alex Dedam, from Miramichi, for his impactful and vast contributions as a tireless advocate for improved education, social conditions, and cultural awareness, and for helping to forge trusting and respectful relationships for the advancement of Indigenous people.
  • Madeleine Dubé, from Edmundston, for her unwavering and enduring commitment to improving the lives of New Brunswickers through her leadership as a government employee, entrepreneur, manager and politician.
  • Huberte Gautreau, from Moncton, for her determination, generosity and commitment to social justice and human rights.
  • Georges Henri Goguen, from Moncton, for his tremendous career as a pioneer of modern art in Acadia, and for his promotion and support of emerging artists in the Maritimes.
  • Constantine Passaris, from Fredericton, for his visionary work as a fervent champion and strong advocate for multiculturalism, immigration, inclusion and human rights.
  • Kenneth Pike, from Rothesay, for his visionary work and significant contributions to progressive social policy, and for his passionate and dedicated advocacy for human rights.
  • Susan Reid, from Fredericton, for her incredible dedication to social justice through her applied research and programming in the areas of youth justice, trauma, victimization and gender-based violence, and for her promotion of volunteerism and social action.
  • Dr. Jennifer Russell, from Fredericton, for her steadfast and outstanding leadership and commitment, and for the compassion she showed while working to protect the health and safety of New Brunswickers during a global pandemic.
  • Brent Staeben, from Fredericton, for his steadfast dedication to cultural enrichment and economic development, and for empowering youth to build their capacity and make positive contributions to society.
  • Ralph Thomas, from Saint John, for his passionate advocacy and promotion of diversity, inclusion and cultural understanding.
  • Elizabeth Weir, from Saint John, for her exceptional service and leadership dedicated to the promotion of equality and social justice.

The inductees were presented with an Order of New Brunswick medal. Members of the order are entitled to use the initial ONB after their names.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their field. Since 2002, more than 190 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.