FREDERICTON (GNB) – The names of the 10 new recipients of the Order of New Brunswick were announced today in Fredericton.

“New Brunswick is an exceptional province because of the people who use their talents to serve their communities and their province,” said Premier Blaine Higgs. “Each of the 2021 recipients is an example of what can be accomplished when thoughtful, committed and passionate people put their hands to work to make a difference for their families, friends, communities and New Brunswickers. It is with the utmost respect and admiration that I congratulate all the recipients.”

The 2021 inductees are:

Wesley Armour, from Moncton, for his substantial role in the province’s economic development, for his fierce loyalty and generosity toward his employees, and for his role as an informal ambassador for New Brunswick.

Edward Barrett, from Woodstock, for his tremendous leadership, engagement and significant contribution to economic development in New Brunswick and within his community.

Armand Caron, from Shippagan, for his exceptional contribution in the field of education, to his community, to the local Francophonie, and for his remarkable qualities as a leader and unifier who has greatly contributed to the advancement of New Brunswick.

David Christie, from Harvey, Albert County, for his significant contribution in expanding our understanding of New Brunswick natural history, for his support of land conservation, and for the role he played in raising awareness about the importance of protecting the province’s unique areas and creatures.

Madeleine Dubé, from Edmundston, for her unwavering and enduring commitment to improving the lives of her fellow New Brunswickers through her leadership as a civil servant, an entrepreneur and a politician.

Huberte Gautreau, from Moncton, for her determination, generosity, and commitment to social justice and human rights.

Constantine Passaris, from Fredericton, for his visionary work as a fervent champion and strong advocate for multiculturalism, immigration, inclusion and human rights.

Dr. Jennifer Russell, from Fredericton, for her steadfast and outstanding leadership and commitment, and for the compassion she showed while working to protect the health and safety of New Brunswickers during a global pandemic.

Ralph Thomas, from Saint John, for his passionate advocacy and promotion of diversity, inclusion and cultural understanding.

Elizabeth Weir, from Saint John, for her exceptional service and leadership dedicated to the promotion of equality and social justice.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their field. Since 2002, more than 170 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

Both the 2020 and 2021 recipients will be invested with the Order of New Brunswick at ceremonies to be held in Fredericton on Nov. 4.