FREDERICTON (GNB) – The names of the 10 new recipients of the Order of New Brunswick for 2020 were announced today in Fredericton.

“What makes New Brunswick so exceptional is our people; especially those who truly make a difference in the lives of their friends, families and communities,” said Premier Blaine Higgs. “Each of these recipients is a testament to the impact which thoughtful, committed and passionate people can have on the world around them, including within their province. It is with great admiration that I congratulate all those who have been selected.”

The provincial government typically announces the annual recipients on New Brunswick Day, but the COVID-19 pandemic delayed the 2020 selection process.

The 2020 inductees are:

Rachel Lillian Burgess, C.M., from Grand Falls, for her extraordinary volunteerism in her community and for her impassioned lifelong devotion to improving the lives of those with intellectual or developmental disabilities.

Deborah Craig, from Moncton, for her monumental impact in the military community in New Brunswick and beyond, as a trailblazer for women in the Canadian Armed Forces.

Alex Dedam, from Miramichi, for his impactful and vast contributions as a tireless advocate for improved education, social conditions and cultural awareness, and for helping to forge trusting and respectful relationships for the advancement of Indigenous people.

Dr. Dennis Furlong (posthumous), from Dalhousie, for his outstanding contribution to New Brunswick’s health-care system, his leadership in health education and public policy, and his significant and inspirational athletic achievements.

Georges Henri Goguen, C.M., from Moncton, for his tremendous career as a pioneer of modern art in Acadia, and for his promotion and support of emerging Maritime artists.

Retired Sergeant Major Roch Lanteigne, from Bas-Caraquet, for his extraordinary contribution to the Canadian Armed Forces as a member of the elite SkyHawks parachute team and a former member of the special forces.

Alida Léveillé-Brown, from Campbellton, for her exceptional work in continuing education, and for her outstanding commitment to improving the status of women and families within her community.

Kenneth Pike, from Rothesay, for his visionary work and significant contribution to progressive social policy, and for his passionate and dedicated advocacy for human rights.

Susan Reid, from Fredericton, for her incredible dedication to social justice through her applied research and programming in the areas of trauma, victimization and gender-based violence, and for her promotion of volunteerism and social action.

Brent Staeben, from Fredericton, for his steadfast dedication to cultural enrichment and economic development, and for empowering our youth to build their capacity to positively contribute to society.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their field. Since 2002, more than 170 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

When conditions permit, the 2020 recipients will be invested with the Order of New Brunswick at a ceremony in Fredericton.

More information on the 2020 recipients is available online.