FREDERICTON (GNB) – Ten new members were invested into the Order of New Brunswick by the chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Brenda L. Murphy, at a ceremony held today at Government House in Fredericton.

“This year’s recipients have given back to our province in profound and significant ways,” said Premier Blaine Higgs. “They are a testament to the impact which thoughtful, committed and passionate people can have on the world around them. It is an honour to recognize and celebrate their achievements.”

This year’s recipients are:

  • Chief Patricia Bernard, from Madawaska Maliseet First Nation, for her outstanding achievements in uniting the Wolastoqey Nation in New Brunswick and for her work in the economic development of the Madawaska region.
  • Héliodore Côté, from Grand Falls, for his longstanding commitment and leadership in his community through volunteerism.
  • Michel Doucet, from Dieppe, for his extraordinary commitment to the legal profession and for his outstanding contribution to language rights in New Brunswick.
  • Léo Johnson, from Moncton, for his passion for social justice and for his commitment to protecting vulnerable people in his community.
  • Lois Scott, from Shediac Cape, for pioneering the establishment of a provincewide telehealth service and contributing to the well-being of all New Brunswickers.
  • Robyn Tingley, from Rothesay, for her extraordinary achievements in leadership and her commitment to women’s equality in New Brunswick.
  • Abraham Beverley Walker (posthumous), from Saint John, for his inspiring achievements as one of Canada’s first black lawyers admitted to the bar and for his commitment to civil rights in New Brunswick and across North America.
  • James Wilson, from Quispamsis, for his outstanding commitment to conservation in New Brunswick and his work in establishing the Point Lepreau Bird Observatory.
  • Claire Wilt, from Bathurst, for her longstanding service to her community and extraordinary volunteerism.
  • John Wood, from Oromocto, for his incredible fundraising efforts through his own John Wood Foundation to raise money and awareness for Duchenne’s muscular dystrophy in New Brunswick.

The 2019 inductees were presented with an Order of New Brunswick medal. Members of the order are entitled to use the initial O.N.B. after their names.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field. Since 2002, more than 170 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.