FREDERICTON (GNB) – Premier Blaine Higgs has announced a change to the senior ranks of the provincial public service.

“A deputy minister plays an important role as both team leader and as support to the work being done by the minister,” said Higgs. “It is key to have right person in place to ensure our government is able to best serve New Brunswickers and focus on the goals we have set.”

Effective Dec. 6, Rob Taylor will become deputy minister of Transportation and Infrastructure. He is coming to the position from Winnipeg, where he is currently the assistant deputy minister of infrastructure capital projects with the Manitoba Infrastructure Department.

EDITOR’S NOTE: The following is a complete list of deputy ministers, deputy heads and presidents of Part 1 Crown corporations (* denotes a change or addition):

  • Cheryl Hansen, chief operating officer, clerk of the Executive Council, head of the public service, deputy minister of Finance and Treasury Board, secretary to Treasury Board, and secretary to Cabinet;
  • Louis Léger, deputy minister and chief of staff of the Office of the Premier;

  • Nicolle Carlin, deputy minister responsible for strategic initiatives and communications, Office of the Premier;
  • Cade Libby, deputy minister of Environment and Climate Change, deputy minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, deputy minister of Aboriginal Affairs and president of the Regional Development Corporation;
  • Ryan Donaghy, deputy minister of Local Government and Local Governance Reform (acting);
  • Cathy LaRochelle, deputy minister of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries;
  • George Daley, deputy minister of Education and Early Childhood Development (anglophone sector);
  • Marcel Lavoie, deputy minister of Education and Early Childhood Development (francophone sector);
  • Thomas MacFarlane, deputy minister of Natural Resources and Energy Development;
  • Heidi Liston, deputy minister of Health (acting);
  • Sadie Perron, deputy minister of Economic Development and Small Business, CEO of Opportunities NB (acting), and deputy minister of Immigration;
  • Daniel Mills, deputy minister of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour;
  • Michael Comeau, deputy minister of Justice and Public Safety, and deputy Attorney General;
  • Eric Beaulieu, deputy minister of Social Development;
  • Yennah Hurley, deputy minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture and deputy minister responsible for Women’s Equality;
  • Rob Taylor*, deputy minister of Transportation and Infrastructure;
  • Alan Roy, CEO of Service New Brunswick; and
  • Paul Greene, deputy minister responsible for communications, Executive Council Office.