FREDERICTON (CNB) – Eight organizations have received approval by the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation to establish regional community inclusion networks.

"I congratulate the successful organizations and thank all those that submitted an application to host a community inclusion network," said Social Development Minister Sue Stultz, one of the four co-chairs of the corporation. "These networks are an important component of New Brunswick’s poverty reduction plan because they will provide an inclusive forum to co-ordinate poverty reduction efforts at the local level."

The networks will develop poverty reduction plans and work together to deliver programming tailored to local needs. The corporation will provide financial resources and support to the networks.

The goal is to have 12 networks in operation by this summer. Letters of interest were received from all regions, and to date, the corporation has approved the hosts for the following eight networks:

●    Region 1 – Greater Moncton / Westmorland County / Albert County: United Way of Greater Moncton and Southeastern New Brunswick;
●    Region 2 – Greater Saint John / Sussex / Queens East / Kings East: Vibrant Communities Saint John;
●    Region 3 – Fredericton / York South / Tracy / Oromocto / Gagetown / Sunbury County/Queens North / Minto / Chipman: Greater Fredericton Social Innovation;
●    Region 5 – Restigouche County: Youth Priority Center Inc.;
●    Region 6 – Bathurst and surrounding area: Bathurst Youth Centre;
●    Region 8 – Charlotte County: Charlotte County Community Inclusion Network;
●    Region 10 – Carleton County / Victoria County: Carleton Victoria Community Inclusion Network; and
●    Region 11 – Kent County: Éducation Kent.
"The community inclusion networks are an important weapon in the fight against poverty, and each one will be a unique reflection of its community," said Léo-Paul Pinet, corporation co-chair. "Now that some of networks have been established, community stakeholders can move forward with the important step of addressing poverty reduction efforts at their local level as we recognize that the needs of one region of the province will not be the same as another."

Under the Economic and Social Inclusion Act, the corporation can recognize a community inclusion network provided the local group has established a structure for governance and decision-making that will engage a board with representation from business, government, the non-profit sector and residents who are living or have lived in poverty.

A proposed network must have at least two letters of support communities in its area. It also must be able to leverage community resources from a variety of sources; develop a plan to address the linguistic needs in the community; and have an acceptable, transparent process for managing funds.

Organizations were invited to submit their applications and a preliminary plan to the corporation for consideration.  

A map of the 12 regions is online.


●    Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation: