FREDERICTON (CNB) - The remaining board members of the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation were announced today by Premier Shawn Graham.

"I thank these individuals from across the province who have agreed to fight poverty and help build a brighter, self-sufficient future for everyone in New Brunswick," Graham said.

The Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation will lead and co-ordinate the implementation of Overcoming Poverty Together: The New Brunswick Economic and Social Inclusion Plan. The board's first tasks will include establishing local community inclusion networks and working with stakeholders to determine the details of prescription drug program for non-insured persons with the goal of starting to phase-in the program by April 2012.

"I am honoured to be working toward the same goal as these exceptional women and men," said Social Development Minister Kelly Lamrock, one of four vice-chairs on the corporation's board. "They have shown a strong desire and commitment to battle for those who need help within this province."

The newest board members are:

Business sector:

  • Anne Hébert, chief executive officer, Conseil economique du Nouveau-Brunswick inc.
  • Jean-Claude Savoie, chief executive officer, Groupe Savoie inc., Saint-Quentin
  • Derek Oland, executive chairman, Moosehead Breweries Ltd., Saint John

Non-profit sector:

  • Steven Hicks, Alternative Measures, John Howard Society, Fredericton
  • Roger Lessard, director general, Youth Priority Centre Inc., Pokemouche
  • Brenda Murphy, co-ordinator, Urban Core Support Network Saint John Inc., Grand Bay-Westfield

Provincial government:

  • Health Minister Mary Schryer
  • Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Minister Donald Arseneault
  • Education Minister Roland Haché


  • Juanita Black, Saint John
  • Pam Coates, Saint John
  • Ginette Arsenault, Fredericton
  • Liette Holmes, Haut-Riviere-du-Portage
  • Rachel Kelly, Val-Doucet
  • Jacques-François Levesque, Grand Falls
  • Jennifer Melanson, Upper Coverdale

"With the addition of these members, we are extending the partnership among government, business, and communities in the fight to reduce poverty in our province," said Lamrock.

The new board members join the four previously appointed vice-chairs:

  • Lamrock;
  • Léo-Paul Pinet, director general, Centre de bénévolat de la Péninsule acadienne inc., Caraquet;
  • Gerry Pond, chairman, Mariner Partners Inc., an information technology firm based in New Brunswick; and
  • Monique Richard, an advertising consultant who has first-hand experience with the struggles faced by those who live or have lived in poverty.

Official Opposition leader David Alward or his designate will also serve on the board. James Hughes, deputy minister of social development, is the corporation's president.

The board will hold its first meeting on Wednesday, June 30, in Fredericton.