FREDERICTON (CNB) - The four vice chairs and president of the board of directors for the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation have been named by Premier Shawn Graham.

"I am pleased that these individuals have accepted the challenge of helping us overcome poverty in New Brunswick," Graham said. "The vice chairs have been selected to reflect the fact that poverty reduction is the shared responsibility of every New Brunswicker."

The vice-chairs are:

  • Léo-Paul Pinet, former co-chair of the poverty reduction initiative; director of Centre de bénévolat de la Péninsule acadienne Inc., Caraquet;
  • Gerry Pond, former co-chair of the poverty reduction initiative; chairman of Mariner Partners Inc., an information technology firm headquartered in New Brunswick;
  • Monique Richard, an advertising consultant who has first-hand experience with the struggles faced by those who live or have lived in poverty; and
  • Social Development Minister Kelly Lamrock.

"I am honoured to be working with a team of such exemplary leaders who are dedicated to the goal of reducing poverty in New Brunswick," Lamrock said.

Pinet, Pond and Lamrock were all part of the team chosen by Graham to bring New Brunswickers together in the development of a poverty reduction plan for the province.

"Keeping individuals at the forefront of New Brunswick's effort to build a brighter, self-sufficient future will ensure continuity in the work and keep all stakeholders focused on taking action against poverty in our province," Graham said.

The Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation will lead and co-ordinate the implementation of Overcoming Poverty Together: The New Brunswick Economic and Social Inclusion Plan. The board's first tasks will include establishing local community inclusion networks and working with stakeholders to determine the details of prescription drug program for non-insured persons with the goal of starting to phase-in the program by April 2012.

The four vice-chairs represent government, the non-profit sector, business and people who have experienced life in poverty. They have been appointed for a four-year term and each will serve a one-year term as board chair. Pinet will be the board's first chair. James Hughes, deputy minister of social development, will serve as president of the corporation.

The vice-chairs and president are the first five members of a 22-member board of directors representing government; business; community non-profit organizations; and persons having experienced poverty.


EDITORS NOTE: The biographies of the four vice-chairs and the president of the board of directors of the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation may be found on the poverty reduction plan website.