FREDERICTON (GNB) – Residents of 10 local service districts in northeastern New Brunswick will head to the polls on Monday, May 15 for a plebiscite on a community restructuring project.

People in the local service districts of Cap-Bateau, Coteau Road, Haut-Lamèque, Miscou, Petite-Lamèque, Paroisse Ste-Cécile, Pigeon Hill, Paroisse Shippagan, Pointe-Alexandre and Pointe-Canot will vote on forming a rural community with the Town of Lamèque and the Village of Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphaël.

“I would like to commend the tremendous work accomplished by the feasibility study committee for the islands of Lamèque and Miscou,” said Environment and Local Government Minister Serge Rousselle. “This project would allow the communities to work together to ensure their long-term economic and social prosperity. I encourage residents to take an active role in their communities by casting their votes.”

A summary of the feasibility study report will be shared with residents prior to the plebiscite. Support for establishing a rural community will be considered sufficient if a majority of voters (50 per cent plus one) are in favour.

Advance polls will be held between 10 a.m. and 8 p.m. on Saturday, May 6. Ordinary polls will be held on Monday, May 15 between 10 a.m. and 8 p.m. Electors should receive individual voter Information cards in the mail during the week of May 1, setting out all polling stations for their polling division.

“The card is not required to be able to vote, but bringing it speeds up the process at the poll,” said Kimberly Poffenroth, municipal electoral officer. “People who are not on the voters’ list may also be added at the polls by providing appropriate identification that, together, shows the voter’s name, current address and signature.”

Voters must be 18 years old on or before May 15, 2017, must be a Canadian citizen, must have lived in the province for at least 40 days immediately before the date of the plebiscite, and must ordinarily reside in the local service districts that are voting in the plebiscite.

Results will be available on the Elections NB website on May 15 after 8 p.m.