Government of New Brunswick
District Education Council

Established under the Education Act, a District Education Council (DEC) consists of 11 to 13 education councillors elected for four-year terms. Using the policies and standards of the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development as a framework, each DEC establishes objectives and policies aimed at addressing the particular priorities and needs of its district.