FREDERICTON (CNB) - The 65 athletes, coaches, managers, chaperones and mission staff comprising Aboriginal Team New Brunswick will travel to the Cowichan Valley in British Columbia to compete at the 2008 North American Indigenous Games. Ed Doherty, minister responsible for the Aboriginal Affairs Secretariat, will attend the Games, which will take place from Aug. 3-10.

"These games are an excellent opportunity for Aboriginal youth to develop new friendships as they grow as team players and individual athletes," Doherty said. "I look forward to cheering for Team New Brunswick in their quest for gold."

The Aboriginal Affairs Secretariat and the Department of Wellness, Culture and Sport provided a contribution of more than $200,000 to support the team.

"I am proud that New Brunswick is able to help make the dreams of these young athletes a reality by supporting their efforts at the Indigenous Games," said Hédard Albert, minister of wellness, culture and sport. "I know the team will make their communities and all New Brunswickers proud."

The North American Indigenous Games celebrate the sport and culture of indigenous peoples across North America, and are recognized by the Aboriginal peoples and governments of Canada, and by tribal nations throughout the United States.

The games offer competition in 14 sports for athletes of all abilities between the ages of 13-22. About 9,000 athletes and cultural participants, and 40,000 to 50,000 supporters and spectators, are expected to take part in the 10-day event.

Aboriginal Team New Brunswick will be competing in seven of the 14 sports.

For more information, visit the 2008 North American Indigenous Games website.

EDITOR'S NOTE: A list of Aboriginal Team New Brunswick members follows.


Brad Paul, coach, St. Mary's First Nation; Roy Gallagher, assistant coach, St. Mary's First Nation; Roger LeBlanc, St. Mary's First Nation; Peter Polches, St. Mary's First Nation; Nicholas Duthie, St. Mary's First Nation; Theo Paul-Bennet, Fredericton; Justin Wright, Durham Bridge; Jacob Wright, Durham Bridge.

Athletics (track and field)

Nathan Millier, Elsipogtog First Nation; Kateri Sock, Elsipogtog First Nation.


Jake Augustine, coach, Elsipogtog First Nation; Houston Bear, Tobique First Nation; Henry Perley, Tobique First Nation; Elleas Nicholas, Tobique First Nation; Tyler LaBillois, Eel River Bar First Nation; Ashten Francis, Tobique First Nation; Mason Perley, Tobique First Nation; Storm Millier, Elsipogtog First Nation; Austin McKay, Eel Ground First Nation; Julian Augustine, Metepenagiag First Nation; Alexander Francis, Tobique First Nation; Brett Francis, Eel Ground First Nation; Tanner Cloud, Metepenagiag First Nation; Clinton Copage, Elsipogtog First Nation.


Craig Sock, coach, Elsipogtog First Nation; Shawn Moffat, Eel River Bar First Nation; Tyrone Sock, Elsipogtog First Nation.


Cindy Sock, coach, Elsipogtog First Nation; Kathy Dennis, assistant coach, Elsipogtog First Nation; Emily Peter Paul, St. Mary's First Nation; Kelly Dennis, Elsipogtog First Nation; Kirbie Millier, Elsipogtog First Nation; Darlene Perley-Francis, Elsipogtog First Nation; Kimberlee Simon, Elsipogtog First Nation; Joella Augustine, Elsipogtog First Nation; Paige Francis, Elsipogtog First Nation; Sheneeka Millier, Elsipogtog First Nation; Shoconi Metallic, Elsipogtog First Nation; Zoey Sock, Elsipogtog First Nation; Danielle Moulton, Metepenagiag First Nation; Miranda Augustine, Metepenagiag First Nation; Molly Brown, Tobique First Nation; Trina Marie Augustine, Elsipogtog First Nation.


Sherri Paul Bartlett, Woodstock First Nation; Lily Ginnish-LaValley, Eel Ground First Nation; Dylan Bartlett, Woodstock First Nation; Mariah Sockabasin, Tobique First Nation.


Kristen Daigle, Richibucto.

Mission Staff

Ruth Levi, chef de mission, Elsipogtog First Nation; Brad Paul, assistant co-ordinator, St. Mary's First Nation; Glen Caplin, Eel River Bar First Nation; Philip Bartlett, Woodstock First Nation; Sharon Augustine, Elsipogtog First Nation; Raymond Milliea, Elsipogtog First Nation; Lauren Ward, Metepenagiag First Nation.


Tosha Moulton, Tobique First Nation; Jessica Perley, Elsipogtog First Nation; Dustin Sappier, Tobique First Nation; Karen Francis, Eel Ground First Nation; Sherri Daigle, Richibucto.