Government of New Brunswick
  • Description
  • Contacts
  • Overview

    New Brunswick Medicare only covers emergency out-of-country physician and hospital services or services for which you have received prior approval.

    Eligibility

    Any New Brunswick resident with a valid New Brunswick Medicare card.

    Emergency services - An emergency is related to a specific incident that occurs while outside Canada where a delay in the provision of treatment would threaten life, such as fractures, sutures and cardiac arrests. Emergency services do not include:

    - services related to a pre-existing condition which requires ongoing monitoring
    - follow-up visits resulting from an out-of-country emergency; these visits should be sought in Canada.

    New Brunswick Medicare pays:

    - $50.00 a day for out-patient emergency services, and
    - $100.00 a day for in-patient services resulting from an emergency admission.

    Prior approval - New Brunswick Medicare covers out-of-country services not available in Canada on a prior approval basis only. This involves having a written request submitted to New Brunswick Medicare by a New Brunswick specialist who identifies a specific, medically necessary and scientifically acceptable service unavailable in New Brunswick or elsewhere in Canada. Please contact New Brunswick Medicare for more details.

    Description

    To claim for out-of-country services, original signed invoices or receipts (no faxes, photocopies or carbon copies) must be submitted to New Brunswick Medicare within one year of the date of service along with a completed Application for Reimbursement form (see Forms and Packages link below). If an original document is not provided, the patient must ensure that the service provider certifies that the document is an original and the only one provided to the patient and that the document has an original signature. If payments have been made on bills, a receipt showing the amount paid is required. If a claim is not in one of the official languages (English or French) a translation must be provided.

    Payment for out-of-country emergency physician fees and hospital care is made out to the patient in Canadian funds. The patient is then responsible for settling the account with each out-of-country physician or hospital. However, if a patient requires emergency hospital care in an approved hospital facility in the United States, New Brunswick Medicare will make direct payments in Canadian funds to the facility, unless a patient provides proof of payment.

    The costs of most out-of-country physician and hospital services are considerably higher than rates paid by New Brunswick Medicare and the difference between the two is your responsibility. That is why out-of-country travelers are strongly advised to obtain additional insurance from private insurers to cover the portion of charges not paid by New Brunswick Medicare.

    Residents may choose to seek non-emergency out-of- country services, however, those who receive such services will assume responsibility for the total cost.

    Travel and accommodation fees are not covered by New Brunswick Medicare for out-of-country services.

    Contact Email Location
    Fredericton

Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Description
  • Contacts
  • Aperçu

    À l'extérieur du pays, l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick ne paie que les services hospitaliers ou médicaux d'urgence, ou les services pour lesquels une approbation a été obtenue au préalable.

    Admissibilité

    Tout résidant du Nouveau-Brunswick qui détient une carte d'assurance-maladie valide du Nouveau-Brunswick.

    Services d'urgence : Une urgence est un incident particulier qui survient lors d'un séjour à l'extérieur du Canada et dans le contexte duquel un retard dans l'administration d'un traitement pourrait menacer la vie, par exemple une fracture, le besoin d'une suture ou un arrêt cardiaque. Les services d'urgence ne comprennent pas :

    - les services se rapportant à un état de santé antérieur qui demande une surveillance continue;
    - les consultations de suivi découlant d'une urgence survenue à l'extérieur du pays; celles ci devraient avoir lieu au Canada.

    L'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick paie :

    - 50 $ par jour pour les services urgents fournis aux patients externes, et
    - 100 $ par jour pour les services fournis aux patients hospitalisés et découlant d'une admission en urgence.

    Approbation préalable : L'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick assure, sur approbation préalable seulement, les services fournis à l'extérieur du pays qui ne sont pas disponibles au Canada. Cela suppose la présentation par écrit d'une demande à l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau Brunswick de la part d'un spécialiste du Nouveau-Brunswick précisant qu'un service particulier est médicalement nécessaire et acceptable du point de vue scientifique, et qu'il n'est offert ni au Nouveau-Brunswick ni ailleurs au Canada. Pour un complément d'information, veuillez communiquer avec l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick.

    Description

    Pour déposer une réclamation relative à des services à l'extérieur du pays, il faut soumettre à l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick, dans l'année suivant la prestation des services, les factures ou reçus originaux signés (les télécopies, les photocopies ou les copies carbonées ne sont pas acceptables) ainsi qu'un formulaire de demande de remboursement dûment rempli (se reporter à l'hyperlien des formulaires et trousses ci-dessous). Si un document original n'est pas fourni, le patient doit s'assurer que le fournisseur de soins certifie que le document est original et qu'il est le seul à avoir été remis au patient et que le document contient une signature originale. Si des paiements ont été effectués il faudra soumettre un reçu indiquant le montant payé. Si les factures ne sont pas rédigées dans l'une des deux langues officielles (français ou anglais), une traduction doit être fournie.

    Le paiement des services médicaux et hospitaliers urgents reçus à l'extérieur du Canada est versé aux patients en fonds canadiens. Le patient est alors responsable de régler les comptes de chaque médecin et de chaque hôpital de l'extérieur du pays. Toutefois, si un patient a reçu des services hospitaliers urgents d'un établissement hospitalier agréé des États-Unis, l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick effectuera le paiement en fonds canadiens directement à l'établissement, à moins que le patient ne soumette une preuve de paiement.

    Le coût de la plupart des services médicaux et hospitaliers à l'extérieur du pays est substantiellement plus élevé que les taux payés par l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick, et le patient doit assumer l'écart entre les deux. C'est pourquoi il est fortement recommandé à ceux qui se rendent à l'extérieur du pays de se procurer des assurances additionnelles auprès d'assureurs privés pour couvrir la portion des frais non payés par l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau-Brunswick.

    Les résidants qui désirent obtenir des services non-urgents à l'extérieur du pays peuvent toujours le faire, toutefois ils devront en assumer le plein coût.

    Les frais de voyage et de logement pour les services reçus à l'extérieur du pays ne sont pas assurés par l'Assurance-maladie du Nouveau Brunswick.

    Personne-ressource Email Adresse
    Fredericton