Government of New Brunswick
  • Description
  • Contacts
  • Overview

    Special Care Homes are licensed by the Department of Social Development, however, are subject to routine inspection by this department. This department provides routine inspection and recommendations of these facilities, as well as Transition Houses for abused women, on behalf of the Department of Social Development.

    Eligibility

    Any licensed special care home or transition house requiring a Public Health inspection on behalf of the Department of Social Development.

    Description

    Public Health Inspectors conduct routine inspections of special care homes to monitor compliance with “Health Protection Branch Inspection Standards for New Brunswick Child and Adult Residential Facilities”. During the course of inspection, such things as overall facility physical condition and maintenance (inside and outside), water and ice supply, sewage disposal, solid waste disposal, general health hazards, various health standards pertaining to various activities, and communicable disease policies are assessed. Inspection findings will dictate recommendations for corrections to Social Development and the special care home and may require a follow-up inspection to ensure corrections have taken place.

    Special care homes also require a food premises licence under the Public Health Act. Public Health Inspectors conduct routine food premises inspections to monitor compliance with Regulation 2009-138 made under the Public Health Act. These inspections are carried out in accordance with the “Public Health Inspector Guide to Food Premises Inspections”.

    Contact Email Location
    Bathurst
    Campbellton
    Caraquet
    Edmundston
    Fredericton
    Grand Falls
    Miramichi
    Moncton
    Perth-Andover
    Saint John
    Shippagan
    St Stephen
    Sussex
    Tracadie-Sheila
    Woodstock

Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Description
  • Contacts
  • Aperçu

    Bien que l’agrément des foyers de soins spéciaux relève du ministère du Développement social, ceux ci sont inspectés périodiquement par le ministère. En effet, le ministère de la Santé se charge de mener les inspections nécessaires dans ces établissements ainsi que les maisons de transition pour les femmes victimes de mauvais traitements, puis de formuler des recommandations au nom du ministère du Développement social.

    Admissibilité

    Le service vise les foyers de soins spéciaux et les maisons de transition devant être inspectés par la Santé publique pour le ministère du Développement social.

    Description

    Les inspecteurs en santé publique inspectent périodiquement les foyers de soins spéciaux afin d’assurer le respect des Normes d’inspection de la Direction de la protection de la santé à l’égard des établissements résidentiels pour adultes et enfants au Nouveau Brunswick. Lors d’une inspection, divers points sont évalués, y compris l’état global de l’installation et son entretien (à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur), l’approvisionnement en eau et en glace, l’évacuation des eaux usées, l’élimination des déchets solides, les risques pour la santé en général, les politiques sur les maladies transmissibles et une variété d’autres activités. Selon les résultats de l’inspection, des recommandations concernant les corrections à apporter sont ensuite présentées au ministère du Développement social et au foyer de soins spéciaux concerné. Une inspection de suivi peut être requise afin de vérifier si les corrections ont bel et bien été apportées.

    En outre, conformément à la Loi sur la santé publique, les exploitants de foyers de soins spéciaux doivent être titulaires d’une licence d’exploitation de locaux destinés aux aliments. Les inspecteurs en santé publique effectuent des inspections périodiques afin d’assurer le respect du Règlement 2009 138 établi en vertu de la Loi sur la santé publique. Les inspections sont effectuées conformément au Guide de l’inspecteur de la santé publique sur l’inspection des locaux destinés aux aliments.

    Personne-ressource Email Adresse
    Bathurst
    Campbellton
    Caraquet
    Edmundston
    Fredericton
    Grand-Sault
    Miramichi
    Moncton
    Perth-Andover
    Saint John
    Shippagan
    St Stephen
    Sussex
    Tracadie-Sheila
    Woodstock