Government of New Brunswick

Overview

Apprenticeship training is not available for this occupation.

Eligibility

An individual desiring certification as a journeyperson in New Brunswick in the locksmith occupation is required to meet one of the criteria as stipulated in Board Order GC001.1, “Requirements to Obtain a Certificate of Qualification.”

A person who has gained the equivalent of 9000 hours of practical experience in the locksmith occupation and provides criminal record check issued not more than six months prior to the application, may apply to challenge the certification examination. Successful candidates will receive a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification.

For more information, please see the corresponding board order for this occupation under Tasks, Activities and Functions of a Designated Occupation.

Description

Qualified journeypersons are familiar with the materials, tools, principles and skills required in the locksmith occupation.

Locksmiths modify, recombine, repair or install mechanical locking devices and electronic based locking systems and repair, recode, service, install, manipulate or bypass a mechanical or electronic locking device for controlled access or egress to premises, safes, vaults, lock boxes, automatic teller machines or other devices for safeguarding areas where access is meant to be limited. They operate mechanical or electronic locking device, safe or vault by means other than those intended by the manufacturer of such locking devices, safes or vaults and provide technical advice and consulting in regards to the selection of hardware and locking systems of mechanical or electronic locking devices and electronic security systems.

Changes To Fees

This document provides the rationale supporting changes to fees, associated revenue information, and the legal authority:
http://www2.gnb.ca/content/dam/gnb/Departments/services/fees-frais/2013/2013PETL.pdf

Fees

Unless otherwise specified, Fees exclude the harmonized sales tax (HST).

Fee DescriptionRate in $Effective Date
YYYY-MM-DD
Certificate of Qualification Examination
  Examination250.001997-11-10
  Re-examination120.002013-04-01
Certificate of Qualification based on "out-of-province journeyperson status"150.002012-08-01
Replacement of Certification Documents20.002013-04-01
Tuition Fees - Technical Training weekly rate85.002013-08-01
Certificate of Qualification Challenger Assessment Fee100.002012-08-01
Replacement of Photo Identification Card20.002012-08-01
Assessment of Foreign Credentials100.002012-08-01

Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick

Aperçu

La formation par apprentissage n'est pas disponible pour cette profession.

Admissibilité

Quiconque souhaite obtenir un certificat de compagnon au Nouveau-Brunswick dans la profession de serrurier doit répondre à l'un des critères tel que stipulé dans l’ordonnance de la Commission GC001.1, « Exigences pour obtenir un certificat d’aptitude.»

Quiconque ayant déjà atteint l'équivalent de 9000 heures d'expérience pratique dans la profession de serrurier et qui peut fournir une vérification de leur casier judiciaire datant d’au plus six mois, peut faire la demande d'écrire l'examen en vue d'obtenir le certificat d'aptitude. Advenant un succès à l'examen écrit, le candidat se voit décerner un certificat d'aptitude du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez voir l’ordonnance de la Commission correspondante à cette occupation sous tâches, activités et les fonctions de la profession désignée.

Description

Les compagnons compétents possèdent une connaissance des matériaux, des outils, des principes et des compétences nécessaires à l'exercice de la profession de serrurier.

Les serruriers modifient, recombinent, réparent ou installent des dispositifs de verrouillage mécanique et des mécanismes de verrouillage électronique et réparent, reprogramment, entretiennent, installent, manipulent ou dérivent les dispositifs de verrouillage mécanique ou électronique pour entrée contrôlée à un lieu, à un coffre-fort, à une chambre forte, à un boîtier de verrouillage, à un guichet automatique bancaire ou autres dispositifs ou moyens de les évacuer pour protéger des lieux où l'accès est censé être limité. Ils exploitent un dispositif de verrouillage mécanique ou électronique, un coffre-fort ou une chambre forte par d'autres moyens que ceux prévus par le fabricant et offrent de conseils techniques et de consultation concernant le choix de matériel et de dispositifs de verrouillage mécanique ou électronique et de systèmes électroniques de sécurité.

Modification des frais

Ce document fournit la justification pour les changements des frais, l'information relative aux recettes associées, ainsi que l' autorisation légale :
http://www2.gnb.ca/content/dam/gnb/Departments/services/fees-frais/2013/2013EPFT.pdf

Liste des frais

Sauf indication contraire, la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) n'est PAS incluse dans les frais.

FraisTaux en $Effective Date
YYYY-MM-DD
Examen pour Certificat d'aptitude
  Examen250,001997-11-10
  Reprise d'un examen 120,002013-04-01
Certificat d'aptitude pour une personne qui détient "un statut de compagnon hors-province".150,002012-08-01
Remplacement de certificats20,002013-04-01
Frais de scolarité - Taux de formation technique par semaine85,002013-08-01
Evaluation des frais pour écrire les examens de Certificat d'aptitude100,002012-08-01
Remplacement du carte d'identification20,002012-08-01
Évaluation des frais pour compétences étrangères100,002012-08-01