SAINT-ANDRÉ (GNB) – Ten new members were named to the Order of New Brunswick today. Premier David Alward made the announcement as part of New Brunswick Day celebrations in Saint-André.

"These 10 individuals, who will be invested in the order later this fall, are being recognized for having made outstanding contributions to the social, cultural or economic well-being of our province," said Alward. "These remarkable individuals have each helped in their work, in their creativity and in giving of their time and talent to creating a strong, culturally rich and prosperous New Brunswick."

The recipients are:

●    Calixte Duguay, of Caraquet, for his body of work across many artistic disciplines, especially in Acadian literature and music;
●    Raymond Fraser, of Fredericton, for his contributions to literature and New Brunswick's cultural life;
●    Cindy Hewitt, of Hillsborough, for her dedication to her community and to the cause of ending breast cancer;
●    Arthur Irving, of Saint John, for his contributions as a builder of the province's economy and for his devotion to preserving the natural environment;
●    Audrey Lampert, of Moncton, for her career as an educator and her commitment to promoting human rights;
●    Raymond Lagacé, of Atholville, for his long service as mayor as well as builder of his community and the entire Restigouche region;
●    Salem (Sam) Masry, of Fredericton, for his contributions as an innovator and entrepreneur in digital mapping technology who built CARIS into the world's leader in the field;
●    Philip Sexsmith, of Fredericton, for his contributions as an educator and founder of Characters Incorporated, Fredericton's renowned youth performance troupe;
●    Ann-Marie Tingley, of Saint John, for her service as a life-long community volunteer and crusader for those with intellectual challenges; and
●    Ron Turcotte, of Drummond, for his outstanding career as a jockey and sportsman as well as for his advocacy of the rights of persons with disabilities.

Established in December 2000, the Order of New Brunswick is the province's highest honour. The award was enacted to recognize individual New Brunswickers who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field and who have made outstanding contributions to the social, cultural or economic well-being of New Brunswick and its residents.

"This year's recipients of the Order of New Brunswick represent our province at its very best," said Alward. "On behalf of all New Brunswickers, I congratulate them and thank them for their energy, their commitment and their service to their communities and our province."

The recipients will be invested into the Order of New Brunswick at Government House in Fredericton in October.


●    Order of New Brunswick (2012 recipients)