FREDERICTON (CNB) – Wage Gap Action Plan scholarships have been awarded to 45 students enrolled in one of New Brunswick's community colleges or private colleges.

"I am pleased that Wage Gap Action Plan scholarships are being given to these deserving students," said Environment Minister Margaret-Ann Blaney, who is also minister responsible for the status of women. "I commend these students on choosing non-traditional careers, which will create diversity in the workforce and contribute to eliminating the wage gap."

The scholarship is intended to encourage women and men entering their first year at community college or private college to seek careers in trades, technology and others sectors where participation by women and men has been limited.

The program, valued at $150,000, awards scholarships of up to $2,600 to individual students to help offset their tuition in 2011-12.

"The Women's Issues Branch is committed to reducing the wage gap in our province by providing this financial assistance and by employing mentors who work with students in non-traditional programs," said Blaney. "We are getting closer to reaching our goal."

Scholarship recipients

New Brunswick Community College, Fredericton campus
●    Joseph Keefe, Fredericton, LPN
●    Ashley Hawkins, Fredericton, Civil Engineering Technology

New Brunswick Community College, Miramichi campus
●    Kalecia Young, Miramichi, Electrical
●    Karen Hatheway, Knowlesville, Electronic Game - 3D Graphics
●    Samantha MacFarlane, Ritchie, Policing Foundations

New Brunswick Community College, Moncton campus
●    Laura Thompson, Scoudouc, Electrical
●    Katelyn Joyce, Berry Mills, Automotive Service Technician
●    Victoria Brewer, Burtts Corner, Civil Engineering: Highway and Municipal
●    Adam Walton, Sackville, Personal Support Worker
●    Stephanie Richard, Moncton, Carpentry
●    Erica Hill, South Nelson, Electrical
●    Laura Cleven, Grand-Barachois, Civil Engineering: Structural
●    Danielle Dyer, Bouctouche, Civil Engineering: Architectural
●    Kathleen Tompkins, Riverview, Motorcycle Repair
●    Shelby Power, Islandview, Automotive Service Technician
●    Chantal Mazerolle, Notre-Dame, Welding
●    Shaunna Dixon, Saint John, Motor Vehicle Body Repairer and Painter
●    Robynne Belyea, Glenwood, Civil Engineering: Architectural

New Brunswick Community College, Saint John campus
●    Keith Johnston, Hoyt, Respiratory Therapy
●    Marina Burke, Saint John, Electrical
●    Ashley Stacey, Saint John, Motor Vehicle Body Repairer and Painter
●    Frank Robertson, Saint John, Personal Support Worker
●    Robert (Scott) Rinehart, Saint John, Pharmacy Technician
●    Julie Hayes, Saint John, Power Engineering
●    Danielle McPhee, Saint John, Electronics Engineering Technology
●    Jessica Shannon, Saint John, Power Engineering
●    Adam Grant, Saint John, LPN

New Brunswick Community College, Saint Andrews campus
●    Kyla Allaby, Pennfield, Electrical: Industrial
●    Sarah Price, Nashwaak Bridge, Electrical - Industrial
●    Ryan Walker, Garnett Settlement, LPN
●    Chantal Mercier-Brown, Minto,  Electrical

New Brunswick Community College, Woodstock campus
●    Megan Douglas, Douglas, Electrical
●    Samantha Bradstreet, Fielding, Carpentry
Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, Edmundston campus
●    Véronique Lalonde-LeBlanc, Dalhousie Junction, Technologie du génie civil (civil engineering technology)
●    Mohend Sadki, Saint-Jaques, Soins infirmiers auxiliaires (practical nursing)

Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, Dieppe campus
●    Patrick Gallant, Dieppe, Soins infirmiers auxiliaires (practical nursing)
●    Jérémie Maillet, Sainte-Marie-de-Kent, Soins Infirmier auxiliaires

Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, Campbellton campus
●    Michel Bellefleur, Edmundston, Techniques en pharmacie (pharmacy technician)
●    André-Guy Thibodeau, Neguac, Techniques en pharmacie (pharmacy technician)
●    Ayla Pears, Campbellton, Woodworking and Cabinetmaking
Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, Bathurst campus
●    Nancy Larocque, Sainte-Marie–Saint-Raphaël, Technologie de l'ingénierie du bâtiment (building engineering technology)

Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, Acadian Peninsula campus
●    Patrick LeBreton, Tracadie-Sheila, Service de soutien en soins prolongés (personal support worker – long-term care)

Centre for Arts and Technology
●    Luc Bourgeois, Notre-Dame, Interior Design

Baytech College
●    Melissa Bishop, Riverview, Carpentry

Oulton College Moncton
●    Laura Mason, Riverview, Policing and Corrections