Government of New Brunswick



Guiding Principles

  • Pension plans must be able to pay benefits for members today and for those members who will retire in the future.
  • There should be no advantage to retiring before any changes are made to an existing pension plan.
  • Pension amounts previously earned up to any agreed-upon transition date will not be decreased. Any changes to a pension plan will be incremental and applied on a go-forward basis.
  • Pension plan amendments must be fair to employees at all stages of their career as well as retirees.

Task Force Members

Paul McCrossan

Throughout his career as a consultant and actuary, McCrossan has held various positions with the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, the Society of Actuaries and the International Actuarial Association. He has written and lectured extensively on the topic of finances and pensions. Serving twice as a Member of Parliament, he was involved in the reform of a number of key pieces of pension-related legislation, including the Pension Benefits Standards Act and the Canada Pension Plan Act.

Susan Rowland

A graduate of Osgoode Hall Law School, Rowland has focused her career on pension and benefits law, with particular expertise in the restructuring and funding of pension plans. Appointed as his designate by the Superintendent of Financial institutions for Ontario, she has assisted in resolving the under-funding of several high-profile pension plans, including: Algoma Steel, Ivaco Inc., General Motors of Canada and Chrysler Inc. Rowland has published numerous papers in professional journals and has been frequently invited to speak before groups interested in pension and insolvency issues.

Pierre-Marcel Desjardins

Desjardins has a Ph.D. in economics and has been teaching economics at the Université de Moncton since 1990. He is also researcher at that Canadian Institute for Research on Public Policy and Public Administration. He is vice-president of the Fédération des caisses populaires acadiennes, the executive director of the Canadian Regional Science Association, a member of the board of directors of the Caisse populaire Kent-Sud, and a member of the advisory committee for the Sainte-Marie-de-Kent local service district.