New Brunswick Public Library Service

POLICY 1002

Subject:Regional BoundariesEffective:December 2003

Revised: January 2023

1.0 PURPOSE

This policy defines public service boundaries for the five library regions.

2.0 APPLICATION

This policy applies to all libraries that are administered under New Brunswick Public Library Service.

3.0 DEFINITIONS

Library region refers to the regional office, the service units served by the regional office and the population served based on the regional boundaries.

Regional boundaries refer to the geographic areas that make up a library region's service area (e.g. county, parish, town, city, village, rural community, local service district, reserve).

4.0 LEGAL AUTHORITY

New Brunswick Public Libraries Act

5.0 GOALS / PRINCIPLES

- **5.1** Library regions are part of a provincially coordinated system. Regional boundaries exist to:
 - ensure the effective management and administration of public library services across the province;
 - facilitate equitable access to public libraries across the province.
- **5.2** Library regional boundaries should not prevent cooperation and coordination across library regions for the planning and delivery of public library services.

New BRUNSWICK PUBLIC LIBRARY SERVICE

POLICY 1002

Page 2 of 3

6.0 REQUIREMENTS / STANDARDS

6.1 Each library region will be made up of the following geographic areas, commonly referred to as the "regional boundaries":

6.1.1 Albert-Westmorland-Kent library region:

- Albert County
- Kent County
- Westmorland County
- Parishes of Cardwell, Havelock and Waterford in Kings County
- Parishes of Hardwicke and Rogersville in Northumberland County
- Village of Rogersville in Northumberland County

6.1.2 Chaleur library region:

- Gloucester County
- Parish of Alnwick in Northumberland County
- Village of Neguac in Northumberland County
- Restigouche County, but excluding the parish of Saint-Quentin, and the town of Saint-Quentin

6.1.3 Haut-Saint-Jean library region:

- Madawaska County
- Victoria County
- Carleton County
- Parish of Saint-Quentin, town of Saint-Quentin in Restigouche County
- Parishes of Southampton, Canterbury and Northlake, , villages of Meductic, and Canterbury in York County

6.1.4 Fundy library region:

- Charlotte County
- Saint John County
- Kings County but excluding the parishes of Waterford, Cardwell and Havelock
- Parishes of Gladstone and Blissville, and villages of Fredericton Junction and Tracy in Sunbury County
- Village of McAdam in York County

6.1.5 York library region:

- York County, but excluding the parishes of Southampton and Northlake, , and the villages of Meductic, and Canterbury
- Sunbury County, but excluding the parishes of Blissville and Gladstone, and the villages of Fredericton Junction and Tracy

Brunswick New Brunswick Public Library Service

POLICY	1002
--------	------

Page 3 of 3

- Queens County
- Northumberland County, but excluding the parishes of Alnwick, Hardwicke and Rogersville, and the villages of Rogersville and Neguac
- **6.2** The total population for a library region will be derived from the most recent Statistics Canada census data. See Appendix A Regional Population Statistics.

7.0	GUIDELINES / RECOMMENDATIONS	
-----	-------------------------------------	--

None.

8.0 REGIONAL GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES

None.

9.0 REFERENCES

New Brunswick Public Libraries Act.

10.0 CONTACTS FOR MORE INFORMATION

NBPLS Provincial Office, (506) 453-2354